Spain opens up to international travel

After more than a year of restrictions on international travel, more and more European countries are reopening their doors to American tourists and other non-essential travelers.

Spain is the latest country to reopen its doors to leisure travel, as Spanish government officials announced last week that the country would open to vaccinated travelers from June 7.

As the European Union takes steps to reopen its borders, it is up to each member country to decide when and how to lift their restrictions.

Spain has announced that from June 7 fully vaccinated travelers will be allowed to enter Spain with proof of vaccination with vaccines approved by the European Medicines Agency (EMA) or the World Health Organization. (WHO).

Here’s who can travel to Spain right now:

  • Spanish nationals and residents and travelers from countries of the European Union and the Schengen area and its nationals are allowed to enter.
  • Ordinary residents of the European Union, States associated with Schengen, Andorra, Monaco, Vatican (Holy See) or San Marino who travel to this country, providing documentary proof.
  • Passengers from the UK.
  • Holders of a long-stay visa issued by a Member State or a Schengen Associated State heading to that country.
  • Residents of Australia, New Zealand, Israel, Japan, Rwanda, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand or China (including Hong Kong and Macao) provided travelers are coming directly from these countries or only carry out international transits at airports outside these countries.
  • Health professionals, including health researchers and elderly care professionals who are moving to or returning from their professional activity.
  • Transport personnel, sailors and aviation personnel required to carry out air transport activities.
  • Diplomatic and consular staff of international organizations, military, civil protection and members of humanitarian organizations, in the exercise of their functions.
  • Students who are studying in Member States or States associated with Schengen and who have the corresponding permit or visa and medical insurance, provided they travel to the country where they are studying and entry takes place during the academic year or the 15 days before.
  • Highly skilled workers whose work is necessary and cannot be postponed or carried out remotely, including participants in high-level sporting events taking place in Spain. These circumstances must be documented.
  • People traveling for imperative family reasons duly accredited.
  • People who document reasons of force majeure or need, or whose entry is authorized for humanitarian reasons.

Passengers coming with or without stopovers from India, Brazil, Peru, Colombia, South Africa, Botswana, Comoros, Ghana, Kenya, Mozambique, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe can only enter Spanish territory if they are:

  • Residents of Spain or Andorra, or Spanish citizens.
  • The spouses or partners with whom they have a union similar to the conjugal one entered in a public register and the ascendants and descendants who live in his care on the condition that they travel with him or to meet him.
  • Diplomatic, consular, international, military, civil protection organizations and members of humanitarian organizations, in the exercise of their functions
  • Passengers with proof of force majeure or need, or whose entry is authorized for humanitarian reasons

See hotel deals in Madrid, Malaga, Seville, Barcelona, Marbella, Valence, Benidorm, Alicante, Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, and Ibiza.

Source link

Previous Can you finally have your dream wedding in Italy? Here's what you need to know
Next Kyodo News Digest: May 30, 2021